I Gave My Notice and Felt Like a Total Asshole

Giving my notice at the place that was dominated by frustration, drama, mind-boggling decision making and brain numbing power struggles was not without its own level of stress.

I had to give my notice to my boss on her birthday. Her birthday. And, on the very same day she shared with me in confidence that her sibling was going to be taken off life-support and would be out of the office for an undetermined amount of time.

I’m absolutely serious.

Who does that? Who gives their notice in between birthday wishes, cake and tears? I did. And felt like the biggest ass on the planet.

It was, by far, the most difficult experience I’ve ever had of giving notice in my entire career. But, it had to be done. As a professional, I could not allow the personal stuff to dictate what I needed to do.

If I’ve learned anything in my career and leadership training, it’s don’t take it personally. Life is too short.

Grit your teeth and do what you need to do. Learn from it.

Leaving my team was tough, though. I want only for their success, and I know I left them dangling a little bit. But they are talented and have direction and they pull together to help each other.

I think I did okay with my short time there.

Leave a Reply

