Sabotage

I witnessed it at my job today. And I’ve seen it on a number of other occasions. I just couldn’t put my finger on it. I and my team have been feeling like all of our hard work to bring business in the door has been met by negativity and brick walls by a couple key people that have killed the deals.

Today was one of those days and one of those key persons whose boss was not there and her boss’ boss was not there decided to go on a power trip, order people around and make an “executive decision” to not accept a new business deal and further more lied about the reason why, which we confirmed.  I am dumb-founded.

That’s when it hit me. I work with a saboteur. A power-hungry saboteur that enjoys throwing up obstacles and makes decisions on emotion. She is negative all the time. She is keeping the department from becoming a team that all works together. She is affecting business when we cannot afford it, in fact, we are hurting right now due to a number of factors. Why did she do it? All I can figure is that she didn’t want to deal with it as it was late in the day. Great business decision. And she’s been allowed to become a leader and these are the decisions she is making and the example she is showing.

I definitely cannot work with this person on a continual basis. I cannot change her and when I have challenged her on something, she cannot be wrong. She’ll lie just so she is not wrong. And the kicker is that her boss’ boss, which is my boss, adores her. My leader is not holding her feet to the fire. There is very little accountability and for these two individuals, the rules change from day to day.

I’m done. I love my team, but I cannot stay in an environment just for my team. It is a no win situation.

I have made up my mind, and I’m going to find my next career move.

Leave a Reply

