Bull By the Horns

Last week I decided to take the bull by the horns. I did. I decided I would make the best of my work situation. I would do it because I committed to the job. I would do it because I am a leader and my staff deserves it. I gave it my all through the week.

At the same time, I learned about a job opportunity. One that particularly appealed to me, I know the company, I know a lot of the people there and I believe in the product. It would be a dream job.

So I spent my week on two different tracks in my brain. I was doing my best at my job and trying my best to get an interview and one step closer to my dream job. Does that make me a hypocrite? I had an interview late in the week and I can’t decide how I did. It was over the phone while I was at home, and I did my best to put myself in a quiet, distraction-free place. There was a thunderstorm starting, my dogs that bark at the top of their lungs at thunder were closed in with my son in his room and my daughter knew I had an important call.

I felt rusty and awkward on the phone. I tried to cover the couple distractions, like my daughter knocking on my door to let me know the sprinkler guy was there. I waved her off and I’m pretty sure I had an awkward gap in my talking. Overall, I think it went well. I just can’t tell.

I hung up thinking, did I just blow that?

By the end of the week, I was wrung out from work, unsure about the interview and mentally tired. It was exhausting wrestling that bull by the horns, and looking back at the week I realized half of me was fighting with the bull and the other half was trying to test a greener pasture. I guess I gave my job only half of my all? I’m pretty sure the bull won.

Leave a Reply

